The Standards for Family-School Partnership Awards recognize local PTAs and councils 
whose programs and activities are based on six National PTA Standards for Family-School Partnerships.

PTA units/councils in good standing that meet a specific award criteria are eligible to apply. Online application deadline is April 1. The awards application period is currently closed.

Award Descriptions

Standard 1: Welcoming all families into the school community
Families are active participants in the life of the school, and feel welcomed, valued, and connected to each other, to school staff, and to what students are learning and doing in class.

Standard 2: Communicating effectively
Families and school staff engage in regular, meaningful communication about student learning. Communication is the way we connect with others to share thoughts and feelings. It is the basis for human interactions, friendships and relationships. Communication is one of the most important skills we can possess. Through effective communication, parents and teachers can develop positive relationships, improve problem-solving methods, and work together to help students make greater progress.

Standard 3: Supporting student success
Families and school staff continuously collaborate to support students’ learning and healthy development both at home and at school, and have regular opportunities to strengthen their knowledge and skills to do so effectively.

Standard 4: Speaking up for every child
Families are empowered to be advocates for their own and other children, to ensure that students are treated fairly and have access to learning opportunities that will support their success.

Standard 5: Sharing power
Families and school staff are equal partners in decisions that affect children and families and together inform, influence, and create policies, practices, and programs.

Standard 6: Collaborating with community
Families and school staff collaborate with community members to connect students, families, and staff to expanded learning opportunities, community services, and civic participation.

Scroll to Top