NCPTA Announces 2013-15 Slate of Officers

The North Carolina PTA (NCPTA) Nominating Committee is pleased to announce the 2013-15 slate of officers to our members. NCPTA members will have the opportunity to vote on these officers on Saturday, June 1, during our Parent Education and Leadership Conference, at 9 am.

Participation in the selection of NCPTA leaders is a privilege of membership and an obligation to the success of our work for kids. Questions should be sent by email to by May 24, 2013.

The NCPTA Board of Directors appreciates your participation in the nomination and election of our incoming officers. Join us as we celebrate leadership for all in the NCPTA.

President-Elect: Kelly Langston, Greensboro

Kelly Langston has been a PTA member for more than 11 years and a volunteer working with children for 20 years. Kelly currently serves as the NCPTA treasurer, the Guilford County Council of PTAs president, the chair of the Guilford County Student Heath Advisory Council and a board member on local nonprofit boards. She works with various community nonprofit organizations and the school system to encourage collaboration.

Kelly is currently pursuing her master’s degree in public health at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. She is married to Rob Langston and they have four children. Matthew is in elementary school; Michael is in middle school; and Sarah and Katherine are in high school. Kelly enjoys spending time with her family and hiking.

Secretary: Cindy Smith, Raleigh

Cindy Smith has been nominated for the position of secretary. Cindy has been involved in PTA for more than 20 years. She has served at the local, council, and state levels in various capacities. She has served as president of the Wake County PTA Council and is currently serving as secretary for NCPTA.

Cindy has been a registered nurse for 30 years and is a recent graduate from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in the adult nurse practitioner program. Cindy and her husband Scott have two grown sons who are students at East Carolina University.